Animal import failng

Hey Everyone,

I’m pretty new to FarmOS and have only been trailing it out so far to see what it can do. So far I have really only set up farm areas and have been tracking herd movements at a group level.

I’m currently in the process of importing all of my animals but have hit a problem where it throwing a “Sex: illegal value” on any animal marked as “Female”, all animals marked as “Male” come though fine. I have tried creating a male and female animal in FarmOS then exporting and re-importing them which results in the same problem so I’m fairly sure this is not a syntax error on my part.

Has anyone else hit this problem and if so does anyone know how to get past it?

error as shown in FarmOS

"Farm asset","Asset ID","","Name","Species/breed","Inventory","Date of birth","Sex","Castrated","Tag ID","Tag type","Tag location","Description","Flags","Group","Location","Archived"
"","3","","test","hereford","1","02/03/2014","Male","Yes","123456789","Chip","ear","","","","",""
"","275","","test","Undefined","1","","Female","No","","","","","","","",""

CSV from export which fails on import

Currently running on Docker image “farmos/farmos:7.x-1.6”

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Hi @Rxb - welcome to the farmOS forum!

Try using “M” and “F” instead of “Male” and “Female”. I believe that is what is expected.

Notably, we do have some logic in there that will covert “male” to “M” and “female” to “F” - but I don’t think it catches capitalized “Male” and “Female”. That said, I’m not sure why “Male” seems to be working for you.

Hope that helps!

Hey @mstenta, thanks for the reply .

Yeah strangely [“Male”,“male”,“M”,“m”] all worked for the males but only “F” worked for the females. Just out of interested where is this defined, any way i can look up what is expecting for the import columns?