Docker Container Password?

I am a newbie to all of this. I have farmOS running on a vm (OCI) and when I try to set it up I am having DB connection issues. I decided that maybe I should build the mysql db in the docker container. But in order to do that it asks for a password? Anyone know what that password is?

Or if anyone has tips on connecting farmOS to the db that built on the vm outside of the docker container that would help too. I did some bind-address edits in my.cnf but that did not seem to help.

Thanks
jt

1 Like

i found the user root and test in the forums but now i get this error:

1 Like

Hi @jtgis, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

Can you describe some of the steps that you took to get to this point first? There are many ways to set up farmOS and its database in Docker.

If you are using the official MySQL Docker image it offers options for setting up the initial database user and password. See their docs here for more info: Docker

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome!

I am running it on an oracle cloud instance if that matters under ubuntu.

I followed up to this part of the install guide:

docker pull farmos/farmos:2.x.y
docker run --rm -p 80:80 -v "${PWD}/sites:/opt/drupal/web/sites" farmos/farmos:2.x.y

I also created a mysql db on my host machine, no docker.

My issue is when I am connecting to the db during setup:

It has no access.

This is all user error on my part but i am stumped on how to give the farmos container access to the db i made. I tried some bind-address stuff to get the docker ip in there but did not really understand what i was doing and it did not work.

If there is anyone around who has a make a db and set it up so that the farmos docker can access it for dummies guide it would be helpful :slight_smile:

1 Like

I might just follow the dev guide. This is for personal use so not much customization will happen. Although eventually I will try to add some x y z tiles to the map… ha

1 Like