farmOS, NodeRed, Home Assistant etc

I’ve setup farmOS and Home Assistant on 2 Raspberry Pi’s, I had initially considered using the same for both, but I think for performance they are better off separated. I’ve been using Home Assistant for over 2 years and I’m building up a Sensor network spread over my fragmented farm, 4 separate farm blocks separated by a few kilometres using LoRa sensor nodes IOT sims in Lora Gateways.

It is only in the last few months that I’ve come across farmOS, and only in the last few weeks that I’ve decided to use it as the software package for the administration of the farm, the more I tinker with setting up farmOS the more I’m finding it a good fit with Home Assistant and wonder how much more I can use Home Assistant along with some of its Addons Like NodeRed in conjunction with extensive farmOS API’s.

Already HA and farmOS are sharing SSL certs for HTTPS,
I’ve also setup HA and Node Red to be able to start and stop the farmOS Docker containers,
NodeRed passes Sensor Data from HA to farmOS,
I can also access farmOS in HA via an iFrame,

So I have full visibility of the farm from a single location, with every sensor, security cameras, calving cameras and now the administration and mapping also. (which is not bad for a little farm)

I’ve been dabbling with farmOS.py for the last few hours and trying to get my head around the farmOS API, but I just had the thought that NodeRed could really simplify some scripting and I’m wondering if many others have used it or are considering using it in this way?

4 Likes

I just noticed that @paul121 has done some experimenting with NodeRed in the past Node-RED farmOS library, I presume this is for farmOS 1.x?

I was thinking last night that it would be great to pull calving due dates from service dates within farmOS and display the due dates for cows in a pen with the camera feed.

1 Like