Orchard in FarmOS

Hey folks, I’m a newbie. I did a quick search for my question but couldn’t find an answer. If this has already been discussed, just send me a link to the thread (and apologies for the redundancy). I’m in the process of setting up FarmOS for our orchard. We have multiple blocks (fields) in our orchard of various fruit trees. Some of our blocks have different varieties of the same fruit. Most of these varieties are organized along rows, but some rows have mixed species due to pollination requirements. Finally, in between the tree rows we manage our alley. Some alleys have different perennial mixes. We manage these alleys at different times based on pollinator requirements and harvest periods. Bees are a constant presence (we manage 80 hives), and we rotate layer chickens through the orchard. That is the basic set up.

I have already set up each individual field as an area, but I need to start adding the row/alley details to these fields. What I can’t figure out is what I should do next. The Bed Generator doesn’t seem to get at what I’m trying to do. Should tree rows and alleys be individual drawn areas within the larger field? Should they be assets? (We planted 11,000 trees this spring so generating individual trees seems daunting. Yet, I know there will be times I will want to flag/mark certain trees or sections of rows.) I know I will create various logs throughout the season based on our nutrient and IPM protocols. This will include foliar sprays, mowings, beneficial insect releases, pest sprays, and irrigation/fertigation events. I’m afraid to proceed thinking that I may create the wrong category for the trees and alley plants and would love some advice in thinking this through before I continue. Thanks! Kyle

2 Likes

Hi @kyle - welcome to the farmOS community!

Someone asked about similar ideas in this topic - see my answer there for some general ideas and ways of thinking: How to easily map individual trees?