Symbioquine's 2.x Migration Testing Log

Today I started playing around with the 2.x migration and I wanted to share my process and any issues/learnings I encounter along the way.

Note: This is not intended for direct use as a tutorial so don’t complain if these steps don’t work as-is for you - though I’m certainly happy to answer questions and take feedback that will be helpful to others.

The complexity of my farmOS installation configuration has certainly grown in the last year so I’ll try to keep some of the irrelevant details out of the way for clarity’s sake.

In short I’m running the standard farmOS 7.x-1.7 image behind a reverse proxy similar to the documentation here.

The relevant part of my production docker-compose.yml file is this;

version: '3.7'
services:
  db:
    image: mariadb:latest
    volumes:
      - './db:/var/lib/mysql'
      - './db-init:/docker-entrypoint-initdb.d'
    expose:
      - '3306'
    environment:
      MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD: farm
      MYSQL_DATABASE: farm
      MYSQL_USER: farm
      MYSQL_PASSWORD: farm

www:
    depends_on:
      - db
    image: farmos/farmos:7.x-1.7
    volumes:
      - './sites:/var/www/html/sites'
      - './php-custom.ini:/usr/local/etc/php/conf.d/php-custom.ini'
    expose:
      - '80'

I also have a number of modifications and custom modules which I hope build migration logic for incrementally. My first milestone will be getting the vanilla asset/log types migrated using the provided migration implementation.

Since 2.x is a work-in-progress and I expect to need to repeat the migration process many times as both 2.x and my customizations evolve, I will be automating everything…

1 Like