Evaluating the potential of commercial GPS technologies to monitor on-farm assets

Hi! I’m Johnny Sanchez and I’m a graduate student at the University of Maine. My advisor and I have been working on a project funded by the Northeastern Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (NESARE) program to evaluate the potential of inexpensive GPS devices to track on-farm labor. Our experimental design was quite simple as we were hoping to prove the concept and answer the question of whether or not this caliber of device could be useful to collect this type of data, which would hopefully be able to be integrated into an existing farm tracking software like farmOS.

We raised a small farm and collected data by tracking the spatial movements of participants carrying out farm tasks while wearing Garmin GPS watches and then conducting an analysis in GIS. While our study suggests that, because of the inherent amount of error (about 10 ft) associated with commercially available GPS receivers, this system may not be viable or may only work at certain scales due to overlapping labor tracks (Figure 1).

Using multi-frequency positioning receivers that are becoming more common may circumvent the limitations and the concept could possibly be adapted to a mobile app on a smartphone, capable of using multiple frequencies at once, and importing directly into a farm tracking system.

The goal would be to create a system that could acquire labor data, that could then be stored, reported, and analyzed in a system like farmOS, quickly and easily. We realize that using GPS technology may be over-thinking things a bit and it might be possible to accomplish this goal in a simpler manner.

Currently, we are reaching out to people who possess the coding skills that we do not to see if anyone would want to adopt our concept. If anybody here has any interest in this project, I would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Best,

Johnny Sanchez

Johnny Sanchez