Example Data for FarmOS

Among the meager farm management solutions, I found farmOS, it seems a robust platform for farm management, huge plus that it is an open source. I’m just starting to learn the system.
I’m from Russia. Confused a little in terms and concepts, it’s hard to start logging without any experience, example date I think would help me. Can you advise something?

1 Like

I agree it would be nice to have a public example farmOS set up - if anyone wants to help with that I’d be happy to provide hosting for it.

In the meantime, try starting with the Quick Forms. The Planting quick form demonstrates how to create and manage planting assets and how they relate to logs like seedings, transplantings, harvests, etc.

1 Like

And of course the user guide! https://farmOS.org/guide

Yea, I’m happy to help you set up an example farm

1 Like

@Skipper, are you still interested in this? I need some fake-farm-data so that we can make demo/training videos.

1 Like

Yea, can do. I did start with something last year, but completely forgot about it

1 Like

Awesome :grinning:
Could we start by collecting some CSV files somewhere in GitHUB? @mstenta, which repo would you like us to work from?

Sure thing @kirsten_mc - I think it would make sense to start a farm_demo repository, which could eventually become a full Drupal/farmOS module. If you or @Skipper want to start one in your own GitHub accounts, we can work together on it there and then move it over to the farmOS organization when it’s ready. Or if you prefer I can make a repo in my personal GitHub account and give you both access - whatever you prefer. :slight_smile:

OK, never done that before, so hopefully it’s set up correctly! You can find the repo under https://github.com/kirsten-mc/farm_demo. I went with the GPLv2.0. @Skipper, are you happy to try creating a pull request?

1 Like

Yea, you should also be able to add collaborators to the repo, under the repo settings>Manage access. (I’m “Skipper-is”)

1 Like