FarmOS v2 - recording sensor data for irrigation system

I’m a vegetable/cut flower farmer in CT and I’m working with USDA NRCS on a new irrigation system. My contract includes monitoring soil moisture in my high tunnels and field so that I can irrigate efficiently. I am obliged to record soil moisture levels and water use, and would like to use FarmOS v2 to store/manage this data. I could manually enter this data as observation logs, but I’m wondering if anyone has tried to automatically capture this data from a soil moisture sensor (I’m considering the Watermark sensors). Is anyone using a soil moisture sensor with a data stream in v2? Same question for a water meter as I need to record water use. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with this.

Robert

1 Like

Welcome to the community @macarius!

Observation logs are a good way to record manual measurements. I would probably have an Observation log with a standard Quantity measurement. As long as you use consistent quantity measure/units/labels you can easily filter down to those measurements in the /quantites list.

Alternatively, you could use v2’s new concept of Data Streams (Data Streams | farmOS), which are attached to Sensor assets. The “basic” data stream type opens up an endpoint with a public/private key you can use to POST data to it from a sensor. You would need to write some kind of script on something like a Raspberry Pi or Arduino to read from the sensor and push to farmOS, but then it would be fully automated!

As for irrigation logs, the convention I tend to use is an Input log with a quantity describing how much water or how long I left the drip on, basically. You can make that as precise as you want.

I know others have done a lot more with sensors than me, so I’d also be curious to hear!

1 Like