Ideas for Data Visualization?

Hello. I am a computer science student. As a student project (using d3) I am interested in creating a data visualization related to the data that is collected by farmOS. Are there visualizations that you would find interesting or useful?

Thank you to all on the call today for providing ideas! I think there are many potential directions for an interesting visualization!

3 Likes

Hi Stephanie,
that sounds like a very interesting project. I guess the feasibility will depend on available data in farmOS and/or available databases.
One interesting visualization could be some kind of Sankey diagram for nutrient flow.
Data points:
Start with nutrients in soil from soil sample data
+Nutrients added by fertilizer input
-nutrients leaving the field by harvested crop
-nutrient displacement depending on soil type and weather conditions (optional)
-+0 maybe add nutrients fixed in crop residue
= nutrient replacement required
(optional depending on crop that’s planted next, this could be data coming from a database)
This could be done for for different soil layers and show nutrient movement in and out of the system on a x, y, z axis. Maybe this could be done for different stages and dates depending on fertilization date, fertilizer type, harvest date

Another idea could be a visualization of soil erosion by precipitation.
Data points:
Soil structure and type
Slope of field from input or GIS data
Plant cover depending on type of crop and development stage
Precipitation type and rate per hour (rain amount/h)
= translocation visualization area specific in fields
This could lead to awareness of soil translocation in certain areas of the field

3 Likes

Do you measure the nutrient in a harvested crop or just working with reference values?