Spray recording

I’m just getting started with FarmOS and looking to use it on our broadacre grain farm in Australia.
Is anyone else using it on a grain farm and how do you manage spray and planting records?

When we seed we will usually have one seed type and a couple of fertilisers, similarly when we spray we will have multiple chemicals in a tank mix and also need to record weather conditions at the time of application.

How do you go about logging that data, are the chemicals and fertilisers assets, inputs or materials? Would we need to record the weather separately as an observation?

4 Likes

I’m looking to do the same so I’m very interested to read any responses

1 Like

Hello, are you looking to set up and track inventories in FarmOS? Or are you more wanting to log the date of a field operation for example ( Pre-emerge Spray - tank mix - rate applied) and not necessarily worried about inventory tracking?

2 Likes

Welcome @EdC and @Angela! Great questions @sarge

are the chemicals and fertilisers assets, inputs or materials?

Currently, farmOS has “Input logs” and “Materials”. Input logs are a type of log specifically intended for recording any kind of input that is applied to your areas or plantings. One of the fields on the Input log is “Materials”, which allows you to enter the names of materials that were used. This is primarily a “tagging” mechanism that makes it easier for you to find those logs again in the future by material name. But it is not a full-blown material inventory tracking feature.

In the future, the plan is to make Material into a new “Asset type” (on the same level as Plantings, Equipment, Animals, etc) - primarily so you can track your material inventory levels. So when you create an Input log, you’ll be able to optionally reference a Material asset and say “I used this much of that Material” (inventory adjustments).