Traceability from seed to product

I have been playing with FarmOS on my own farm for a few years and I have seen that is has great potential for managing data that relates to farming activities. I have recently been employed as the manager/grower of a licensed hydroponic greenhouse cannabis farm and I would like to motivate for the integration of FarmOS as the primary data management tool.

My thinking is that I can record the origin and details of my seeds as a Plantings asset with a unique code. Each time I use from the seeds I would generate a seedlings log which comes of the Plantings asset. This would then generate a transplantings log with a location (tunnel number) which will be linked to all inputs/activities/observations and then finally a harvest log. As this goes on there will be plant selection for cloning and propagation which relates back to the parent seed and would be able to be traced through the lineage tab within the FarmOS hierarchy. Ultimately setting up sensors in the tunnels which provide data on the environmental fluctuations within the tunnel will be neccessary and these data can be used alongside the production logs to refine the production system and provide insight into pest pressure and growth variations.

Things I think would be useful are:

• If there were ways that barcodes could be scanned using the field kit as part of the tracking module like one can set up with the Open Data Kit (ODK select).

Is anyone doing this for plants in nurseries of any other specific reason?

3 Likes

Hi @MorgsBrew - yes that’s how I would recommend tracking things!

We have discussed the idea of barcodes or other ID tracking (RFID, QR code, etc), and how that would be great to have accessible in Field Kit (perhaps as a new “asset lookup” field module in the future). There is an old related discussion here (actually the first issue in the farmOS issue queue!): https://www.drupal.org/project/farm/issues/2396617