How can farmOS make products available?

I am a python developer involved with several groups in the Netherlands looking for ways to nibble at the monopolies of supermarkets and setting up more direct relations between farmers and consumers.

When looking at farmOS, it perfectly support farmers in managing their farm, but I feel one step could be added to bring consumers on board and I would like to know if you are already investigating that.

When crops are harvested, they result in products. These products can move in different directions (simplified, please comment):

• they can be moved to a reserved spot/stock when a farmer has contracts with other stakeholders in the supply chain (bakery, supermarket, slaughterhouse).
  • they can be moved to input for other processes that are local to the farm, for instance; making chutney, jam or cheese and butter (dairy).
  • They can be made available as ā€œavailable stockā€ for free agents to pick up and distribute or for consumers to buy directly at the farm (milk-automat, small shop)

I would like to know if development is already underway to facilitate this step or not. And if you think this would be a valuable addition; to assign products to stock(s) that can then (f.i. via the API) be broadcasted to attract surplus to be available outside of the regular supplychain that most farmers use (a.i. existing relations/contracts) of course taking into account that amounts are reserved and that the stock will decline when products are sold.

I am open for any suggestions and idea and would like to find out if the community at large would like to put effort in making products available.

Welcome to the forum @milovanderlinden! :smile:

Iā€™m glad you started this topic, as it is something that has been bouncing around in conversations for a while now. Here is one:

Another (older) discussion worth reading is:

As a first step, I created a basic ā€œProductā€ asset type module here: GitHub - mstenta/farm_product