Templates for CSV uploads?

Hi there,
I’m very new to FarmOS and am busy uploading the many aspects of my farm. I plant hundreds of seeds, veggies and trees every week and am trying to streamline uploading of data onto the site. However, for some reason, I am unable to find the excel templates to import logs data.
I have activated the ‘Import KML’ section, but still have not found any templates. Hoping you have a link you can send me?
Thanks and apologies if it was sitting in front of me the whole time!

1 Like

What logs are you trying to upload?
I presume you know kml is a markup language for geographical data?

And if so what form is your current geographical data in?

1 Like

Hey Georgie: Welcome to the club! (I mean: both farmOS users club and that distinguished segment of us busy farmers with lots of data to upload :slight_smile:

If i understand correctly your need, it is not simply geographical data (what KML is all about, as @Farmer-Ed points out) but also tabular data about your plant assets, seeding &/or transplanting logs, etc. -yes?

If so, you should know that- though there were “Import CSV” templates available for version 1.x of farmOS, those import templates have not been ported-over to current version 2.x of farmOS. As discussed in this recent thread, and this earlier one out of which it arose, there are other methods for importing data via API, which are certainly more flexible & powerful, but not so point&shoot easy as those old “Import CSV” templates.

One thing i can recommend, if you have any degree of scripting-savvy, there is this excellent farmOS.py script by @paul121 that can get you started uploading & downloading data to&from your farmOS instance via API without too much ado.