Learning and background knowledge

Greetings!

I’m a beginning farmer (just got out of the military) and I’ve been thinking about using farmOS for my permaculture farm.

(1) I’d love to have an off-grid, internet-limited, or internet optional solution with farmOS. Does this align with the direction of the project? If so, what are the top constraints to getting there?

(2) Hypothetically, if I wanted to really dig deeply into this project and software over the years, what skills, programming languages, and/or knowledge would I need or want to learn or bring to the community table to maximize farmOS’ success?

I have a a good deal of free time coming up, and I’d love to know how to direct my independent studies to enable me to contribute and eventually host farmOS without being concerned about monthly fees.

What should I study? Thanks!

2 Likes

I figured I should do some research yesterday, first. My understanding is, that in order to host on my own, or help with the project, it helps to know the following:

• Drupal
  • Git / GitHub
  • Docker / Docker Compose / Docker Hub
  • Command line / basic computer programming ability
  • Web serving
  • Apache
  • Databases / MySQL
  • HTTP
  • HTML
  • PHP
  • CSS
  • FTP

And for basic support of the project, simply use it, know it, and share ideas or concerns. Or use the Open Collective website for financial support.

Phew! What did I miss?

1 Like

Hi @Kilt - welcome to the farmOS community!

(1) I’d love to have an off-grid, internet-limited, or internet optional solution with farmOS. Does this align with the direction of the project? If so, what are the top constraints to getting there?

Yes! Offline local deployment of farmOS has always been a goal. There are a few considerations to this right now, but we aren’t far from being able to host it 100% offline. Just need someone to push that goal over the finish line. :slight_smile: